Week 20

An exciting week the weather held good for 3 days out of the 4, the wildlife seems too have picked up this week with new species for the year seen, along with my hope for forecast from last year coming in this week, to me its a mega status and also another new species seen.

I’ll get the exciting stuff over with first, it was whilst I was trying to pin down a Speckled Wood Butterfly (new for year) and I heard my hoped for bird for this site, it was to be a Common Whitethroat (a migrant species of Warbler similar size to a Robin) singing from I hawthorn bush. I did manage to pin it down seeing the bird all but briefly before hiding again within the bush and tantalizing me singing away out of sight, but Oh yes it was good and I managed to get a brief but poor photo as it appeared in a gap (see below). The second new species is also a bird and that is a Stock Dove which I got better views of but at a time when I had no camera.

Other birds this week around the feeders have been Nuthatch, Blue Tit, Great Tit, Chaffinch, Blackbird, Magpie, Crow, Woodpigeon, Dunnock and Coal Tit was nice to see again. Out in the field Wren, Robin, Common Buzzard (2) over, Chiffchaff could be heard from various location as could Blackcap as well, and good to see a Grey Wagtail around the site mainly on the brook and with Swifts overhead and the Swallows seeming to take up residence in the usual place its been a good week on the bird front.

Which brings me round to the Butterflies nicely with 2 new species for the year added this week these being Green veined White and Speckled Wood, other butterflies this week were Orange tip, Small Tortoiseshell, and Peacock.

Other species of note this week was the Bee fly and a Red-tailed Bumblebee and a Leucozona lucorum Hoverfly and the first moth of the season a Small Yellow Underwing

 

Leucozona lucorum

Leucozona lucorum

Robin

Robin
Small Yellow Underwing

Small Yellow Underwing

Leave a Reply

